Poster Design – Evaluation (Task 4)

design_05Out of the three final posters, I chose ‘the Polyshape’ as my final design it best fitted the brief and utilises a wide range of vibrant and contrasting colours which are eye-catching. The poster was inspired by geometric patterns which are an important part of architecture and I created my ‘Polyshape’ to give the impression of scaffolding.

design_04My second choice, the Shard poster was close behind the ‘Polyshape’ poster in terms of how much I liked it. However, the final poster just didn’t jump out quite like the first one did. The simplistic Shard centrepiece was inspired by the art-deco movement and helped to define the colours user in the rest of the poster.

design_04My least favourite poster, the city hall poster was a real pain to make as the shape and curve never seemed to fit together properly. Adding to that, the lines on the back always looked a bit off. And the final thing was basically in black and white so didn’t really have much variety in the colour palette.

Next time, when printing my poster I would probably use a different printing technique as it was very hard to print in the same colours as the digital version they would sometimes change as the poster was printing. Perhaps I could have used offset lithographic printing which might have resulted in a more consistent colour.

The colour scheme for the majority of the poster designs has been largely the same throughout the designing process. I used Adobe Kuler to choose most of the colour palettes and so they all tended to work together – the only exception being the background for the Polyshape poster.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

