Poster Design – Development Of Ideas (Task 2 and 3)

 Mood boards:

Based on my research, I created two mood boards. One to show the different architecture in London and one to show a selection of poster styles. I discovered I like Art-deco design because it produces strong, vibrant images which are interesting and eye-catching. The eye is also kept focussed on the main image because its surroundings are simplified into their basic elements.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Initial Sketches:

office-lens-20161209-151828office-lens-20161209-151939

For my initial ideas, I took inspiration from my architecture mood board and started sketching different buildings and patterns.

 

 

office-lens-20161209-151856office-lens-20161209-151923

Next, I started playing around with geometric shapes and optical illusions. This led me to draw a load of random lines and then colour the spaces.

 

 


First Design: ‘Polyshape’

design_01

I started developing the design digitally by recreating the lines as best I could in Illustrator. Then, using the pen tool I created polygons for each of colours.

design_02

Initially, I thought that the design would look better without the construction lines so I did a version without. However, after looking at the two versions side by side, I decided that it was more aesthetically pleasing with the construction lines in place.

Next, I started looking at different fonts to go with my design and came up with these four to choose from:

rosewood-stdaniagara-engravedalithos-pro-light-146205atempus-sans-itca
From these fonts I then selected Rosewood Std and Lithos Pro, I wrote the text that needs to go on the poster in these two fonts so that I could choose which one I preferred.

design_04

Before choosing between the fonts, I started playing with the colours of the background. I started off by taking the colour of the London Festival Of Architecture logo and going onto Adobe Kuler to look at complimentary, triad and split-complimentary which helped me to choose the colours.

design_05

Originally I experimented with brown but then changed it to blue and decided that it looked better, also I decided that I preferred the more ‘Greek themed’ font.

design_06
Final ‘Polyshape’ Poster

Second Design: The Shard

office-lens-20161209-151939

The first version of this poster was of a silhouetted skyline – then I decided that just the shard on its own would look quite interesting.

office-lens-20161209-151923

Next, I experimented with moving the Shard, logos and text around to try and find the best arrangement that would draw the eyes to the important parts of the poster – such as the title.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

office-lens-20161209-152504

This is the final sketch design. The Shard is aligned along the right third line and the title is where the left and top third lines meet.

poster_01From this, I developed the Shard design in Illustrator using the pen tool and a simple colour scheme which was often used in art-deco.

design_03

Next, I added the text, logo and decided to use Charlemagne Std. I liked this font because it has an architectural feel to it and it draws the eye.

design_04
Final Shard Poster

Third Design: City Hall

office-lens-20161209-151828

office-lens-20161209-152559For my third final design, I took inspiration from the City Hall building in London to create a design made out of parallel lines. I found it difficult to get the proportions right for the building as the curves were complex.

design_01

Next, I reproduced them in Illustrator with the pen and anchor point tools and used the pathfinder window to merge the shape of the building with the horizontal lines.

design_02

Then, I experimented with varying the layout of the poster, adding the date and logo. It was at this point that I decided that I didn’t like the final shape of the design, so I re-did it using the same technique but making sure the curves were in better proportion.

design_04
Final City Hall Poster
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

